Real Life is a Real Thing

15 Jan

So as you may or may not have noticed, I’ve been off Facebook for about a week now. Well, actually been off Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and tumblr! The reason I’m doing it is that my new church starts every new years with 21 days of fasting. Typically fasting is from food, but there are many other options and since I am already starting a diet I decided to fast from social media.

Why, you might ask? I chose to fast from social networks because they are so addicting! And it’s so easy to waste hours on end basically just staring at other people’s lives, and takes away from so many REAL interactions in the present. Also, I tend to worry WAY too much about what people are saying, “liking”, retweeting, commenting on, etc., and gauge how I feel about myself on  that rather than on what truly matters. I was promised that fasting would open the door for God to really work on my life, even above and beyond my own expectations. Slightly skeptical, I knew that I could definitely benefit some time off the grid even if just for the sake of my sanity, so… On the 6th I logged off, deleted those handy little apps on my iPhone, and mentally prepared myself for withdrawals (no…seriously). And, about six short hours later, I received some amazing news from a loved one (which I’m not going to share for the sake of their privacy), news that I had never even considered getting to hear any time soon. Needless to say I was sold on this whole thing!

Over last weekend, I was lucky enough to fly Piper and myself down to Arizona to spend some time with my fantastic aunt and cousins. Throughout the trip, we met so many amazing people and learned such wonderful, deep lessons from each of them, and in the most unusual places. We didn’t go anywhere with any intent to meet new people, weren’t hanging out an any particularly social scenes, just fell into conversation with average people that I normally would not have had the time to notice with my nose buried in my Facebook app. I originally wanted to write about each of their stories, but it almost feels too personal to share on a blog. BUT it really makes me wonder how many amazing people I never met, life lessons I’ve never heard, or experiences I’ve never shared, because I was too worried about everyone’s cyber-lives instead of the real lives that are being lived around me every day!

Anyway, my urge now is to write about every little other thing that happened on my trip, what Piper and I have been up to, etc.—but I’m not going to because I would basically be trying to make up for all of the Facebook statuses that I haven’t posted in the last week, and that is not my intent! My intent is simply to share the little lessons that I’ve been taught lately, however I WILL post just one photo from my trip because I love my family too doggone much to not show them off ;)

Hope you are all doing well! Talk to you on the 27th :)

az

3 Responses to “Real Life is a Real Thing”

  1. Hootie Povio January 16, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    i hope at least ONE of you (you, Rachel, Auntie Rose) will share how the trip was since Nana, Gabrielle, Alex and I were not there to enjoy your visit this time. :o(

    • lauramargie January 16, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

      We definitely missed you guys! Also I have a photo to send you :) Can you give me your email/cell #?

  2. Rosemary Barringer March 7, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

    Love this post. It’s amazing how you can be blindsided by stuff when our heads get quiet, isn’t it. I can’t wait to read more about what is happening. Your writing is amazing, and even when you’re fb iv-drip is back in, I know you will have incredible things to share….. so hurry up and post again!

What do YOU think?

